In many countries, there is a growing trend of individuals choosing to live in co-housing communities, sharing resources and responsibilities. Are the advantages of this lifestyle choice greater than the disadvantages?

In recent years, many people chose to live in co-housing communities such as apartments, condominium, etc. This lifestyle is caused by increasing land price which people nowadays could not afford. However, there are advantages and disadvantages that will be explained in this essay before sharing my opinion.

Living in a co-housing area offers several benefits for its residents. By sharing public facilities for example swimming pools and gym, residents are open to build new connection with their neighbors. In many cases, business opportunities developed within the neighborhood. For instance, my neighbor is opening a new cafe with my friend who lives nextdoor. They met in a cycling community in my housing complex. Moreover, by having a good relationship with our neighbor, asking for a help would be much easier if we ever got into trouble.

However, there are disadvantages of sharing facilities and resources. One of the issue is frictions and conflicts with fellow residents. Claiming parking spot is a common conflict when living in a co-housing area, especially when having to share a communal parking space. People tend to feel they have the right for a particular parking space but sometimes they forgot it’s for everyone to share. Another concern is fighting over public awareness for hygene in shared facilities such as the gym which may lead to health problems. Consequently, living with clash and dispute would be very energy-consuming and uncomfortable

In conclusion, by the raising price of private land, this lifestyle is highly promoted by developers, accomodating an affordable way to live conveniently. I personally think, co-housing would be widely common in the future especially for developing countries where landspaces are limited.