In many countries today, if people want to find work, they have to move away from their friends and their families. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

People have different views about moving away from families and friends in order to find work. While this development could be exhausting for people, I personally believe that the disadvantages outweigh its advantages.

On one hand, relocating for work can improve professional growth and independence. Firstly, moving to a big city would create a wider range of career opportunities, making it easier for people to upgrade their work skills. Secondly, living away from home would make individuals become more independent as they have to face challenges without support from their families. For example, many young people feels like they are consider as grown up only when they have moved out.

On the other hand, the idea of moving for employment seems to bring about a lot of difficulties such as experiencing loneliness and culture shock. To begin with, living far away in a new country, could easily lead to culture shock as everything from food, weather to people around are all new and different. Furthermore, moving away from their loved ones could lead to feelings of loneliness as the person relocating may not see their family members for a long time and they can even lose connection with their old friends. In addition, the person could be even lonelier if they cannot make new friends in the new city. For instance, many young people in Viet Nam who work overseas often struggle to reconnect with their old friends when they comeback to their hometown.

In conclusion, even though people are willing to sacrifice the chance to stay near their friends and families to relocate for work, I believe this trend have more drawback than the benefit it may bring.