In many large cities,many people are living alone or as a small family unit rather than living in extended families Is it negative or positive development?

In recent decades, people have shifted to living alone or in small family units. The essence of joint families in cities is slowly fading away. Some say there are disadvantages to leaving behind the conventions of a large family. While others celebrate the new opportunities that come with having a tiny home. This essay will examine why living by yourself or having a small family in the city is becoming the most preferred option.

To begin with, city life is expensive but financially rewarding. Rental apartments or flats in urban spaces come with better career choices and quality of life. For smarter budgeting moves, people tend to live alone. They worry less about paying a large sum as their lease. In contrast, a big family comes with bigger bills. With rising prices of basic commodities and inflation, people get careful with where they live and with whom.

Secondly, when people live in joint family settings, there is a sense of reliance and dependency. For example, one might find their dishes already clean and laundry done, without even having to lift a finger. Living alone, on the other hand, teaches one the skill of independence and responsibility. It allows room for mistakes but also for improvement.

Lastly, those in small family units or solo living know the meaning of privacy. In extended families, there isn’t much secrecy or hiding. For example, a newlywed couple might find it hard to adjust while living with their in-laws. For them, a shared, small flat might be an answer for strengthening connection and intimacy. Live-in relationships also thrive a lot in cities because partners share rent and utilities.

Therefore, while extended families come with their own benefits, in 2026, living alone is the new trend. It allows one to save more money, become independent and do whatever one wants to do freely.