In many large cities,many people are living alone or as a small family unit rather than living in extended families Is it negative or positive development?

There is in our cities an ever growing phenomenon. The phenomenon in question is people’s active choice to avoid living with extended family and instead opting to live alone or in small family units.

In my opinion, the reason many people move to such cities is to evade the threat and drama of extended family. Everybody has had experiences with varying negativity across the board when it comes to dealing with relatives. Meaning that, in choosing to live in such busy urban areas, tenants tend to prefer the peace of quiet that comes with trying to figure one’s own life without the humdrum of friendly or even hostile interogation. In addition, such spaces allow for deep and personal self reflection that can oftentimes be obstructed by an inquisitive uncle or aunt. This highlights the importance of time spent away from family and how it can further enrich our relationships among one another. On the other hand, the constant and nagging presence of our loved ones can oftentimes send us down an unlikely path which, for better or for worse, might not have been destined for us. Furthermore, this presence can sometimes prevent us from making completely destructive life choices which we wouldnt make of we had a mature and understanding mentor in our families.

To conclude, I think the pull and push of city life is absolutely what some people need and the time spent away from their relatives can lead to many wonders. To expand on that, I believe the calluses that people develop during their harsh city dwellings are crucial to the process of growth and are utterly unavoidable.