In many parts of the world, people throw away broken items instead of repairing them, while others believe these items should be repaired and reused. What are the reasons for this trend? What solutions can you suggest?

Nowadays, broken items are being thrown away by a lot of people, some believe repairing them is better than throwing away. There are several reasons behind this trend, and in this essay some solutions will be given.

Proponents of throwaway culture believe that cheap products are easier to replace rather than repair. Old televisions, for example, are easier to change to new one, since repairment cost would be expensive. Moreover, a lot of manufacturing companies compete with each other, and they try to boost their sales. Therefore, a huge amount of money are paid to advertising companies, so that brands can attract more customers to themselves. As a result, people are being influenced by celebrity endorsements, and buying new items instead of fixing old ones.

There are several ways to stop this phenomenon. The main solution can be teaching environmental knowledge to children at schools. Today, people do not have enough information about environment, and they do not know much about the negative effects of throwaway culture. Therefore, giving detailed knowledge about environmental problems to children can be useful for the future. In the future, for instance, young generation will be careful with nature, and they will do nature-help projects for protection. Moreover, governments should encourage repairs. By giving repair vouchers, for example, they can encourage local residents to repair their old items. It shows that governments should be also responsible for fixing items.

In conclusion , overconsumption has increased recently, because of advertising and mass-production. However, this affects negativily to the environment so teaching young people about environmental changes and giving vouchers for repairs can be effective for this problem.