In many professional sports, there is an increase in the number of athletes using banned substances to improve their performance. What are the causes of the phenomenon and what are some of the possible solutions?

It is often argued that, in order to enhance the performance level in numerous sport events, consumption of restricted abusive substances by a few athletes is being increased. This essay will discuss, how the cut through competition and inadequate evaluation system in sports facilities are primary responsible for this issue. Subsequently, the most suitable solution will be explain along with a logical conclusion.

To begin with, the main cause of this dilemma is the increasing level of competition in sport events. That is to say that, as every sports person wants to reach on the top most level in such competition, they put an extraordinary effort for this. However, a few believe that with the use of abusive substances they can reduce their stress and reach to their goals easily. Additionally, another reason is the improper practicing of rules and regulations while examine the players, before commencing the events. For example, last year a survey conducted on sport persons in the USA who had been accused for using such products in championship, reveals that sport authorities were not examine them properly before the matches and this whole thing motivated them to use these products more.

A viable solution is to impose more strict laws and restrictions in order to prevent these cases. In other words, authorities need to develop satisfying plans for the proper examination of athletes before the events. Another way to deal with this issue is to make a specific committee in order to provide psychological support to the players, educate them about the importance of fair play in the competitions, as well as explain them the drawbacks of using such products on their life. For instance, last month the USA sports authority initiated an exceptional program in order to improve awareness in athletes regarding consumption of prohibited substances ,meanwhile, they also commenced a counselling service for these players.

To conclude, extraordinary competition and breach in sports organisations’ testing system are predominantly leading to this dilemma, however the pragmatic approach to fix this issue are implementing effective restrictions and initiation of education and counselling facilities for the sport persons.