In many societies, there is a growing emphasis on individualism, with people prioritizing their personal goals and desires over collective interests. Is this a postive or negative development

There is a view that individualism has become a common trend among the current generation. I believe that leading an individualistic lifestyle has some negative effects both on society and individuals themselves.

In today’s fast-paced world, people are becoming disconnected from their community mainly due to their work. Financial anxiety can be considered one of the major concerns nowadays, making people work in several workplaces simultaneously. This consequently leads to social isolation, as individuals simply do not have time for leisure or family. In comparison with the past, the feeling of community spirit these days is gradually becoming lost. People are not even acquainted with their neighbors, let alone keeping in touch with them, for example. Therefore, the number of festivals and celebrations, when communities gather around together is decreasing day by day. The traditional Uzbek holiday Navruz, for instance, now celebrated extremely rarely within the houses of people, if not in the public places specially organized by the government.

Another negative development of living individually might be its detrimental effect on the emotional wellbeing of people themselves. Living constantly alone and being fully loaded with work issues can cause some mental health issues in long run. Although such autonomy may have potential benefits, such as more concentration on a career, less expenses and freedom of choice, I think living without a family or partner is likely to result in a monotonous lifestyle full of emotional disruptions like stress, anxiety and burnout. Additionally, being all by themselves, people can even lose a sense of belonging, which may even lead to the cultures being apart. Thus, the current changing social norms should not be followed easily by many.

In conclusion, I believe that living individualistic lifestyles should not be popularized among young people since it is a negative development in terms of destruction of society and leading to a poor emotional wellbeing for people themselves.