In recent years, cosmetic surgery has become increasingly popular. What are the reasons for this trend? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

With the advent of supreme technology, cosmetic surgery has been proliferating and becoming increasingly ubiquitous on-the-ground. The primary reason of this trend is an urge by public in favor of obtaining fame. I believe this is an adverse advancement irrespective of the benefits it might bring.

At the outset, profound desire of fame tend to drive most people to try out new and unethical methods in a bid to achieve respectable reputation among others. The stereotype could have been instilled by older generation whose trends pertaining to reputation were different; appearance had seen as a significant factor correlated with fame. Such a stereotype may be spurring people to use cosmetic surgery services to alter their appearances. This contains removing wrinkles, and fixing other problems on one’s face.

Having said that, this comes at a huge cost. There is side effects of cosmetic surgery, which is why I advocate this idea. One of which is a risk. A plethora of medical institutions, which offer such a service, are not likely to warrant their services since a silly mistake might lead to an unexpected outcome: the number of problems on face such as nasal ones. Today’s trends related to cosmetic surgery on social media is a plausible instance of this view. Of all surgical contents published by users, the vast majority of them are about pains and problems after a service, which occurred because of mistake made by superficial and unqualified cosmetic surgeons.

To conclude, even though I concede that desire for fame is fostering people to utilize cosmetic surgeries, I think this brings about facial problems that leads to a tight corner. It would be ethical if such services were to be guaranteed and regulated by both heads of medical institutions and the government.