IN RECENT YEARS, MANY GOVERNMENTS HAVE BROUGHT IN LAWS TO BAN SMOKING IN PUBLIC PLACES, SUCH AS BARS, RESTAURANTS, AND OFFICES TO WHAT EXTENT DO YOU AGREE OR DISAGREE

In this day and age, banning smoking in public places, such as bars, restaurants and offices was given by many nations. Personally, I totally agree with this suggestion based on some reasons that are explained in this essay.

The primary justification for smoking prohibition in public areas is undeniable harm to both smokers and non-smokers. In the past, there were no laws enacted to prevent smokers from using tobacco in publics areas, which often leaves smoke in the air, called ‘ secondhand smoke’ known as environmental tobacco smoke. Thus, importantly increase risk of respiratory illnesses, heart diseases and lung cancers, even in individuals who do not smoke. As a result, the smoking prohibition in public can lead to a reduction of medical admission, mortality rates related to smoking-related diseases. Additionally, the presence of smoking can impact other vulnerable individuals such as children and elderly.

Another reason why I support for this argument. The individual’s freedom to use tobacco in public is legal, though, this is not absolute and must be balanced between personal and communitarian to protect a common healthy and safe environment. More than that, public health consequences of smoking not only involve individual smokers, affecting families, communities and so on. Thus, the community rights to enjoy and live in a safe environment outweighs private rights to smoke in public spaces. Especially, harmful effects of secondhand smoke.

It is important to acknowledge that the potential economy of the smoking industry plays a crucial role in the economic development field of any nation. Nevertheless, public health is more fundanmental than any economic benefits. Thus, when laws of smoking ban are published, leading to a reduction of production and consumption of tobacco, especially demand of individual smokers. As a result, medical health care costs become more effective and a healthy workforce will be able to contribute to economic growth in the long run.

In conclusion, it is necessary and reasonable to bring in laws of smoking prohibition to protects non-smokers from secondhand smoke, and improve mutual community health. I strongly believe that the public health will outweigh any economic benefits short-term.