IN RECENT YEARS, MANY GOVERNMENTS HAVE BROUGHT IN LAWS TO BAN SMOKING IN PUBLIC PLACES, SUCH AS BARS, RESTAURANTS, AND OFFICES TO WHAT EXTENT DO YOU AGREE OR DISAGREE

These days, smoking has become a significant health problem among people. However, governments try to deal with that issue and pass restrictive laws that ban smoking in majority of places including bars, restaurtants and offices. Personally I strongly agree with the statement, and in this essay, I will discuss few points to strengthen my opinion.

Firstly, by their actions smokers affect on others health too. If you seat near someone who smokes, you become a passive smoker, which is equivalently bad as actual smoking. As there are usually kids and elders in the restaurants and bars, it would be better to keep them distanced from smoke.

Secondly, ban can make people to give up smoking, because they often smoke after they eat or in stress situations, and restaurants alongside with offices are main places where they spend more than a half of the day. The number of cancer cases could decrease as a result of reduced number of smokers. Overall quality of life will rise with cleaner air.

On the other hand, businesses can face some challenges, especially gastronomical section. If in some restaurant there’s a ban for smoking, Smokers would avoid going there with high chance. I met some enterpreneuers who own cafes and restaurants, and they told me that the number of guests has declined after law was passed by 25%, also it had reduced gross revenue of their businesses.

To sum up, it is an innovative and wise decision to ban smoking in common areas, which can lead to a healthier nation. And I believe, that this law will show it’s result brighter in the future. However, it could be bad from view of economy and enterpreneurship, I think that advantages overweight this problem.