In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

In recent times, people prefer large shopping centre or malls for purchasing compared to local shops. This adversely affects the local shops and ultimately leads to shut down. This essay intends to describe the benefits of choosing shopping centre or malls over local shops.

On the positive side, people do their shopping in malls or shopping centres has several benefits . This is because it provides multiple stores under one roof which attract the customers to buy the products to fulfill their needs. Additionally, people can spend the time with their friends and family by watching movies and playing games. For instance, family visiting the mall for clothing and household items. While, parents can shop at groceries and children can play in the fun zone. Later on , they can gather to have food and spend quality time .

Furthermore, it provides the job opportunity for wide range of roles including management ,security personnel, maintenance workers and food workers, which fosters the local economic growth. For example, once mall is built in urban area it creates employment opportunity for local residents and also neighbouring communities which leads to higher demands to good and services such as restaurants,hotels and transporation services

On the contrary, local shops affected by the presence of malls and shopping centres. People prefer malls for shopping since local shops do not have more varieties and provide discounts which in turn impact their financial growth.

To conclude, while it is true the local shops are having impact on their business , the benefits of having shopping centre or malls boosts the local economic growth and job opportunities.