In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

Shopping in department stores is more common today than going to traditional or local stores. There are some reasons why people like buying in large shopping centres. However, I believe that it will give some small business owners impact on their day-to-day operational activities.

People think that buying something from local shops is boring because they cannot choose and pick what they want. Sometimes, traditional shops do not give the best services to shoppers, so they are distraught by this situation. This led to negative development in local shops, for instance, small business owners always think about how to increase their income, if the situation is still not conducive at all. Additionally, there are a lot of local shops that are closing because of the financial conditions. Hence, it creates unemployment and makes people lazy to do something creative.

On the other hand, Shopping in department stores may give shoppers easy access to buy. Sometimes, large shops give discounts and low prices to the public, so it attracts people to come. Then, people are more comfortable going to the mall because they have complete facilities such as clean toilets, a good food court, a comfort lounge and so on. Besides, some department stores have an online infrastructure to make people easier to shop.

In conclusion, local shops may suffer from this condition because shoppers tend to buy in large shops. Small business owners will close their stores because of financial aspects. In contrast, large shops and department stores are going to the best choices for people to shop.