In recent years, many young people spend increasing amounts of time using social media . Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It is widely acknowledged that social media has become an increasingly significant issue in our world. While opinions on this matter vary considerably, there is no denying that spending many hours on social media platforms has a profound impact on both individuals and society as a whole. This essay will explain why I completely believe that it has a negative effect on citizens.

On the one hand, one of the disadvantages of social media is addiction. In other words, many students prefer spending long hours on social media applications instead of interacting with their family or friends. For instance, in Egypt, a number of students suffer from brain rot, which is the lack of concentration. Therefore, it has a bad effect on the concentration of youth, leading to several issues.

On the other hand, it has a negative effect on health. Nowadays, it is common to see a group of people sitting together, and everyone is focused on their screens, making people less sociable than before , moreover, it wastes their time. For example, in Egypt, many individuals have several eye problems, and suffer from headaches. In addition, it has a significant impact on the quality of work. As a result, it can be said that these platforms gradually destroy people, and affect productivity.

In conclusion, I completely think that drawback of social media platforms outweigh benefit, because it has a detrimental effect on people health, and wastes their time.