In recent years, many young people spend increasing amounts of time using social media . Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, social media has become a part of individuals’ daily life. This development became widespread mainly because of entertainment and convenience it provides, which helps people to keep in touch with each other. Personally, despite some drawbacks I assume that it is positive technological advancement.

One of the main reasons behind this development is the high convenience of communication. This is mainly because it helps people to chat even when there is a long distance between them. For instance, it helps you to chat with your folks who are in another country. Furthermore, social media is becoming popular among youngsters, as it is entertaining and interesting. For example, social media such as Instagram are becoming very interesting as they are enhancing the complexity of their algorithms to make it more attractive. As a result, adolescents are becoming addicted to social media.

I consider advancement widely beneficial as people are being socially engaged and easily being aware of the news. This is mainly because, if they chat with their friends and family everyday with the help of social media, they are less likely to feel alone. Moreover, these days social media is the most comfortable and fast way to be aware of the news, as you can easily find out about them anywhere at anytime and quickly. Although it has several benefits, there are some drawbacks too. One disadvantage can be overusing social media which affects teenagers’ physical well-being. For instance, the more youths spend time using gadgets, they are more likely to experience visual problems.

In conclusion, social media became widely popular because of the convenience that it offers and entertainment. While using it a lot has certain disadvantages, I believe its advantages, particularly in promoting awareness of the news and social benefits, make it a positive development overall.