In recent years some countries have experienced very rapid economic development. This has resulted in much higher standards of living in urban areas but not in the countryside. This situation may bring some problems for the country as a whole. What are these problems? How might they be reduced?

The economic development have been increasing rapidly in the last few years, specially in some countries. As consequence of that, the standards of living in the city got higher than living in the countryside. This scenario might bring some problems for the countries, such as disorganized urbanization, bigger inequality among the population and insufficient job opportunities.

Since the Industrial Revolution the entire world face a migration movement from the countryside to the cities, but after a long period stable this number is growing again, bringing back some urban problems. Based on the fact that this situation were not predicted, the way that it goes colaborate for a lot of infrastructure problems, such as housing, basic care, transport, etc. Big cities, as São Paulo, for example, face nowadays a huge traffic problem, which might be increased with the higher standard of living in the city.

Perhaps this reality is reversible, since the countryside still have an expressive amount of opportunities to improve their standards of life. With the government help and some companies incentives, the countryside can avoid these migration reducing the inequality between city and country life. In Brazil, some countrysides had received taxes incentives to attract big companies, creating a new appeal for people stay there.

In conclusion, the high standard of living in the city may cause some urban problems, but this can be avoid if the investment in new countryside development are planned from the government and industries.