In recent years, the family structure has changed, as well as family roles. What are the changes that have occured? Do you think these changes are positive or negative?

There is often much debate around the fact that family composition and the roles within families have evolved. This essay will explore the shifts in both family size and living preferences, detailing how these changes are adversely impacting traditional values and the level of respect towards elders.

There are numerous changes about family structure and members of family roles. There are several new family types to replace extended family, such as single parent family, unmarried cohabitation family or childless family. Therefore, it makes people have a positive view about family composition. In addition, spouses have more gender equality because double income was provided by both husband and wife. Meanwhile, wife in the past only stayed at home to do housework. They were called household-doers and the husband’s main task was to earn money to support family. Especially, husband was especially considered the breadwinner.

These change have both positive and negative. Changes in family structure make people have more freedom and choices in marriages, they can live alone or divorce or any choice they prefer. Furthermore, the redefined roles enable women to access enhanced opportunities for education and the pursuit of their aspirations. However, it also has the drawback that parental separation causes children to have much more misfortune, or single parent family. Indeed, it makes many teenagers getting pregnant or numerous different problems.

It is rather clear to some extent, this may result in there have been numerous alterations in both family composition and familial responsibilities. I am of the opinion that this way could create certain benefits but there will also be some drawbacks.