In recent years, the family structure has changed, as well as family roles. What are the changes that have occured? Do you think these changes are positive or negative?

Nowadays, the family structure and family roles have altered. This essay will discuss the adjustments that have occurred and evaluate whether it is a positive or negative development for families to change into a distinct structure.

Society adjusted the stern, Victorian families to much more lenient ones. The most significant change is the adjustment of the one who rules the root. In the past, father of the family was setting rules, providing the family with cash and urgent needs. Unlike father, the mother was taking care of children and supervising everything at home. Now, the father is not the only family member who wears the pants, but both parents decide and solve possible issues together and share housework and daily duties among themselves. Since more women tend to be educated currently, in most families both mom and dad work to create a budget together.

Another change is the behavior of children towards their parents. Previously, parents demonstrated themselves over strict, which made children afraid of chatting with their moms and dads about certain issues that were normal to face in everyday life. Recently, most parents have become more lenient which makes children feel more comfortable with their parents, so they are able to talk about their problems, wishes and wants freely.

In my opinion, advantages of certain changes outweigh the disadvantages. As parents now work as a unit, they turn out to be better future examples for their kids. So, children begin to respect both of their parents. Moreover, family members do not keep secrets from each other anymore, and parents explain valid things regarding life to children. These benefits demonstrate that adjustments contribute society to create stronger family bonds and structure.

In conclusion, the alteration of family roles has numerous. It attributes to strengthening the bonds among children and parents and brings healthy relationships into existence.