In recent years, the family structure has changed, as well as family roles. What are the changes that have occured? Do you think these changes are positive or negative?

From joint family to nuclear family, in present days the structure of family has changed along with their family roles. People now a days prefer living alone or with their husband/wife to living with their whole family members. The changes might sounds great however it has more negative aspect.

In the past, people were found to be living together with their parents and grandparents making their family size and structure huge. In those practice, people often found to be helping each other in household activities such as cooking, cleaning, farming etc. There was a strong connection between family members as they were socially and emotionally connected with each other. Additionally, they shared same kitchen and roof.

Moreover, in big families, people tend to support their members. In case of any business problem or social problem: providing security if needed, people stay together to solve the problems. Grand parents, elder brothers and sisters might help a younger one to achieve their dream. Further, the total family income or wealth is huge compared with small families.

In a contrast, small family is a happy family as there are less chance of conflicts due to its size. People in small family should only care about few members and the parents can easily fulfill their loved ones demand from their earning. However, this family may not give the feelings of grand parents to the kids.

In a conclusion, the thinning nature of family structure in recent years, people are struggling more to achieve their goals where required more manpower. Household activities are no more similar in joint and nuclear family. Only in terms of peace environment small size is preferred. I recommend to stay close with family member so that the family member can coorporate to both and big structure of family.