In schools and universities, girls tend to choose arts while boys like science. What are the reasons for this trend and do you think this tendency should be changed?

In many institutions, girls are often found choosing arts as their discipline while their male counterparts mostly engage themselves in science-related subjects. There are numerous contributors to this tendency, mostly regarding gender-specific competency and the labor market. In my view, it is a positive trend that should changed for better development.

Firstly, understanding the reasons behind this pattern is critical as it gives us a broad perspective. According to scientific research, it has been proven that the left brain in the male body often thrives more, compared to that of the female. Based on science, the left brain is the body part that works as a calculator machine, involved in almost all logical and analytical activities. Therefore, by having a better-developed left brain, boys are often more capable of analyzing tasks and calculations, making them more feasible for science. Females, on the other hand, typically develop the right brain more. In addition, art subjects such as music or drawing often require imagination, artistic and expressive, which is scientifically the function of the right brain. The differences in the body system of each gender make it spontaneous for them to follow the trend. Moreover, the labor market also contributes to this development as many laboratories prioritize male candidates and discourage girls. This phenomenon makes them choose art rather than science, which is highly demanding but low in career prospects.

While it is natural and clear why this inclination occurs, changes should be made for a greater community. Although each gender has its own innate talent, many people have been recorded thriving regardless of the potential obstacles. Take Marie Curie, for instance, it is needless to say how much contribution she has made to the world through the chemical aspect by discovering the element Radium. Examples can also be found for the opposite pattern, as Pablo Picasso and Vincent Van Gogh are by all means one of the greatest artists ever with many important artworks that have changed the whole industry, and both of them are male. Furthermore, reducing gender discrimination in the workplace also promotes gender equality as it helps students to prefer disciplines without concern about employment.

In conclusion, it is simple why girls tend to choose arts while boys like science, as gender discrimination and inborn talents mostly contribute. This trend needs to be addressed for a more well-rounded education.