In some cities, the cost of housing is rising much faster than people's incomes. What problems does this cause, and what measures can be taken to solve this issue?

The cost of living has been increasing on a global scale causing many individuals to live without proper shelters. The main cause of this matter is due to rising geopolitical tensions around the world leading to expensive basic necessities such as petrol and dairy products. However, this issue can be tackled by practicing egalitarianism, which is sharing what we have with others.

Recently, it has become harder for low and middle income families to own properties due to geopolitical tesnions such as the United States and Iran’s war. The war has detrimental effects on both humankind and natural resource availability. Iran’s war has led to extreme scarcity of petrol which is the major contributor for global supply chain. Along with the rising transportation costs, even daily foods such as dairy products need to be cauciously purchased because of unstable inflation rates. Amidst such unstable global economy, people cannot afford to buy assests, for example, houses, lands, and cars anymore. Instead, these properties are now considered as liabilities where they have to pay installments for a prolonged period. One prominent example can be seen in real estate statistical data of Thailand where young professionals prefer living on rent to buying expensive housings because of unforeseen economic changes.

However, people can learn to exercise egalitariansim by sharing what they already possess with others in such difficult situations. Egalitarianistic behaviours have proved significant benefits to human beings. For example, while Japan was suffering from a magnitude 8.0 earthquake, the pharmacies and convenience stores owners offered basic necessities to public without charging. This mindset can be introduced to the current situation where everyone contributes a dedicated amount monthly to the community centres in the neighbourhood. As a result, less fortunate people can live in the community centres while contributing to the society in the best ways they can. Followed by this practice, not only almost everyone can afford to live comfortably, but also more compassionate and balanced society can be implemented that passes through generations.