In some cities, the cost of housing is rising much faster than people's incomes. What problems does this cause, and what measures can be taken to solve this issue?

The increasing cost of house rents, causes an hard time for people to live in leading cities. Such an expense has, indeed, become a barrier from new potential residents and a decrease in terms of life quality for those who already live there. Nevertheless, building new houses might represent a long-term way out.

This phenomenon negatively effects the housing market for the customer’s side, especially for the lower class. The ones whose intent is to move in are blocked or discouraged, this is particularly true for students. Being financed by families at these costs is often hard neither to afford nor to accept. In addition, it is correct to affirm that, who is already working there is finding hard to even achieve sustenance. This is the aftermath of rising costs and stable, or lowered, salaries. Witnessing their monthly budget periodically dropping, fathers and mother, who could not move out because of children, are trapped in such a mechanism.

Spiking housing cost is a byproduct of a greater demand for habitations, this is the reason which makes this problem hard to deal with. Intervening directly on prices is a double edged sword, risking to collapse the market. Without any sort of limit, the requests for apartments could not match the offer but in the opposite way as it is happening at the moment. It could be better, thus, to develop new urban areas and buildings, expanding the city it is more likely to absorb the demand. This is happening in cities like Milan, but it still is a slow and on going process. Positive results have been registered in terms of housing availability though.

In conclusion, non-wealthy people si paying the most from the context, both not living in metropolis or conducting a privation-led existence. Moreover, there is lack of fast pace solutions, while the construction industry could represent a price balancer in the future.