In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Nowadays, processed food development is increasing. It leads to a bigger scale of consumption of this type of food. What’s more, there’s a clear correlation between over-eating fast food and various health issues in many countries. To prevent those situations, the government should take action. One of the solutions is to impose a higher tax on junk food. It would make a significant change, however it might not overcome the whole problem.

Delving into the roots of this problem, the most significant purpose of high demand for this kind of food is the price. It is dramatically cheaper than high-quality foods as well as organic ones. People tend to eat it due to the fact that it doesn’t overload their wallets, compared to nutritional intake. Imposition of taxes would deter people from over-eating fast food, because of raised prices. Taking that into consideration, health problems would become less common.

On the other hand, over-consuming fast food might count as an addiction. It is commonly known that people who are addicted will do anything to reach their target. Increased prices might reduce the overall income of this kind of food, however there still will be numerous individuals prepared and determined to pay for it. It would contribute to detrimental consequences for their health.

Ultimately, tax imposition would be a crucial improvement for lowering health issues in society, however it wouldn’t work on everyone – people tend to care about prices rather than their own well-being. For now, it’s unsolvable how to permanently decrease the number of health concerns caused by nutritionally poor foods.