In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is often argued that quick meals consumption is the reason for developing medical problems among people, therefore, it is necessary for governments to impose higher taxes on fast food. While some people support this idea, I completely disagree that such measures could help reduce unhealthy eating habits.

Firstly, it is believed that individuals experiencing health problems are mostly because of the over consumption of convenience food, and later on, this habit may become part of their regular diet. In this regard, increasing the price of fast food can help people reconsider their unhealthy eating choices. The reason is that higher taxes make people think twice before buying overpriced food. For instance, consumers of a fast food chain may find it less appealing after prices increase.

However, I agree that increasing prices on quik meals can encourage less consumption of unhealthy food. Therefore, those who witnessed a sudden rise in prices might experience breakdowns and overeating by buying poor-quality products. As a result of purchasing low-grade foods which cost cheaper, there are high possibilities of not getting enough vitamins, protein, fiber and healthy fats. Consequently, human organism might strain stres and lead to obesity, diabetes, digestive disorders and etc. Morever, it is better to advertise healthy food, and penalise food chains that use misleading advertisements and artificial colors.

In conclusion, although some people think that increased taxes on fast food intake can help reduce consumption and develop healthy eating habbits. I strongly believe that increased prices can fail its goals in order to minimize eating quik meals. Therefore, I completely disagree that the government should increase taxes on fast food.