In some countries around the world men and women are having children late in life. What are the reasons for this development? What are the effects on society and family life?

There is a growing tendency for married couples to have children later in life, compared to previous decades. Some of the reasons for this phenomenon may include the urge to build a career in the first place and relying on modern technologies. Such an issue can lead to raising more conscious and mature individuals on one hand, but misunderstandings between family members due to age gaps.

Reasons that persuade couples to postpone having children are quite valid. Firstly, some individuals prefer to make their way up the career ladder before settling down and building a family. Taking this time allows to become a professional in a chosen sphere as much as to understand personal goals and values. Thus, future parents will provide a more wealthy, fulfilled, and comfortable life for their children. Additionally, parents opt for alternative ways to have a child. At present, there are many ways that can foster pregnancy at mature age. With technologies and proper self-care, women have a chance to deliver a child later in life. Partners might also want to adopt children later, so that they do not

This particular tendency have both benefits and downsides in terms of family life and society. Kids that are brought are by relatively mature parents tend to grow into mentally healthy and stable adults. During their childless periods on life, people gain valuable knowledge, wisdom and experience that can be passed down to their offspring in the future. Such an approach allows to form happier members of society. However, the possible age gap may come between healthy relationship in such a family. Due to completely different understanding of the world, youngsters can behave in a way that does not align with parents’ expectations. So, it can potentially cause distance and disappointment between relatives.

To conclude, nowadays, we can witness an increasing desire of adults to build a family with children at late stages of life. The roots of this trend are hidden in putting work on the first place and choosing other methods for have a baby. This issue is a controversial one because it can stimulate quarrels and cold feelings in a family due to differences in age, but also provide society with mature and wealthy members.