In some countries, criminal trials in law courts are shown on television so that the general public can watch them. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?.

Many people argue whether it is good or not, as in some countries, some criminal trials in law courts are public in the television for the public to watch. In my opinion, the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.

On the one hand, the option to publicly court can exert many positive effects. To start with, the court will be more objective if they are shown on television. Especially, in many cases, lawyers and the judge will receive brides from the defendant and make the verdict lighter. This not only affects the reputation of the court but also hurts those innocent people. Besides, showing programs like this serve as a deterrent. Evidently, after watching serious crime cases such as robbery or murder, people can learn their faces and be aware when going out or after they get released from the prison, which means they can protect themselves from being hurt . Above all, criminal trials will provide citizens with an amount of knowledge related to law. To be more specific, by observing trials, people can gain a better understanding about their rights, the role of attorneys and judges, and how evidence is presented and evaluated.

On the other hand, some arguments can be made that this program affects offenders’ lives. The main reason for this is that some viewers may feel angry, and in turn, decide to pressure and bully the criminal’s family. But closer examination would reveal that only a small percentage of audiences react this way. Although the program can evoke strong emotions, its overall effect on the families involved is limited.

Having considered all the arguments above, I would conclude that showing trials in a law court enjoys more benefits overall.