In some countries, criminal trials in law courts are shown on television so that the general public can watch them. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?.

Nowadays, crinimal situations take up a major number in both developed and developing nations. In some countries, there are many criminal courts have taken place on television for citizens can allow to watch them. In my opinion, the disadvantages of broadcasting criminal trials on television outweigh the advantages.

On the one hand, the prons of televising criminal trials is that it can surge the public trust in the legal system by allowing inhabitants to observe how trial is carried. For example, USA is a region that takes the storm by exhibiting criminal trials throughout many devices , and these contribute to not only provide the clarity and transparency of courts, but also enhance residents’ awareness about the laws and policies of the country. Moreover, showing judiciarries have influenced considerably on human’s behavior and thinking. For instance, when the courts are shown on television, so that viewers are able to witness trials and access laws and policies such as warmings, rules,… All of them can help people to prevent criminal ideas or actions.

On the other hand, broadcasting criminal trials can do harmful for both trials and culprit. Firstly, that can violate the rights of the accused. Because of cameras , the accused’s presentation will feel uncomfortable, and their relation also . The good example for this situation is Michael Jackson in 2005, when he was accused to molest a thirteen-year-old girl, and this incident affected to his reputation. Secondly, courtrooms filled in with cameras and reporters, therefore, many information of courts can be distorted or exaggerated by media influence and sensationalism for their purposes. Finally, disruption will likely occur and it may cause social problems such as racism, discrmination, …. that can lead to the social order disorder.

In conclusion, while there are arguments on both sides of the issue, I believe that the disadvantages of broadcasting criminal trials on television outweigh the advantages.