In some countries, people encourage their children to get a job or to travel after their secondary education and before their university education. What are the advantages or disadvantages of doing so?

Nowadays more parents encourage their children to do experiences abroad before University. Of course there are advtages and disadvantages of owing so; I will try to discuss both perspectives before reaching a conclusion.

In my country, Italy, is usual to do the fourth year of high school abroad. One benefit of this exeperience is surely the fact that you have the possibility to meet new people all around the world and know new cultures. Not only that, but also it is certain that it is the best way to improve the ability to speak English and maybe learn another language.

However this could be an extremely stressed situation, due to the fact that friends and family are far away, there may be a different time zone so the communication could be difficult. An additional disadvantage is that some families can’t affoard to maintain economically a child abroad, so one solution could be to find a job while you are out of the country.

Therefore what should be an unforgettable adventure can turn into a negative experience if you are not ready to do it. In my country is recommended to do a psychological evaluation whith professionals before experiences like these.

All thing considered, I think that if you have the opportunity to do it, you should take it. Experiences like travels are the ones that makes ourselves conscious about the world and the society where we live. Furthermore, working makes you financially independent and creates a discipline that you wouldn’t have if you only studied.