In some countries schoolchildren wear a uniform. In others, they can wear whatever they want at school. What are the advantages and disadvantages of having school uniforms?

In some states, it is a tradition for students to wear a uniform at school. In other countries, however, kids are free to choose their own clothing for school days. I firmly believe that having a school-specific outfit brings almost no drawbacks while benefiting students significantly.

It should be acknowledged that uniforms present certain problems to pupils, one of which is limiting them in self-expression. For many educational establishments, school outfits consist of a primary selection of colors, with darker bottoms and a white button-up shirt. Because of strict uniform policies, students feel like they are losing their creativity and sense of style. The reason why every individual has their own external persona, and that is manifested through what they wear or how they wear their hair. However, students are forced to grow in one type of clothing until they graduate, while they have to explore themselves, develop their own identity and style before adolescence.

Nevertheless, the advantages of having specific school attire are imperative in children’s school journey. This is because uniforms offer students equality, and can aid academic concentration. Schools use uniforms as a pertinent tool to eradicate bullying as an official uniform places children from a range of backgrounds on the same level. For example, peer pressure is a major concern for young people, particularly those from a poorer socio-economic background. So a uniform is vital to ensure that all students are dressed in the same way and are treated equally by their peers. Furthermore, uniforms not only create egalitarian spaces but also improve student efficiency and productivity. It is obvious that wearing a uniform removes points of differences among students, thus unifying the pupils and providing greater focus for group work. Additionally, recent studies found that majority of pupils chose to remain in their uniform outside of school to complete their homework, to remain in the working mindset. According to the research, the reason for that is pupils viewed non-uniform days as non-working days, which also led to a drop in their behavior. Therefore, uniforms are important for educational establishments.

In conclusion, although some minor problems are brought about to student by wearing a uniform, I reckon that it is important to have an official uniform for every school considering the advantages it brings.