In some countries, secondary schools aim to provide a general education across a range of subjects. In others, children focus on a narrow range of subjects related to a particular career. Which do you think is appropriate in today’s world?

There are variances in education provided to children in different countries.The education in some countires is rather general while in others is more specified.Personally,the general education is appropriate in today’s world.Some people may prefer the latter one,they may point out that being excellent in one is better than being ordinary in many.Letting children focus on a narrow range of subjects can make them go further in the subjects they choose,since they will have enough time to delve into the details and form their own perception.In contrast, general education will make children lost in numerous choices and hard to concentrate.However,this view are somehow superficial.Children’s cognitive ability are still under developing,and in this period they don’t have enough basic knowledge and skills to make deep study.So the better choice is letting them to learn the basics from many aspects.

In today’s world,the technology are advancing at an unprecedented speed,making the whole society change everyday.Children need to be exposed to knowledge in many fields to expand their horizon and keep abreast of the new trends.For example,if schools only provides basic subjects such as math and foreign languages,children’s mind will be restricted and can’t get more practical skills.Besides,they will not know what is the current trend and what will be replaced in the future.As a result,they may spend too many time on someting that was not very useful.In addition ,general education constructive role to develop children’s interests and help them find their major in the future.After having a overall understanding of several subjects,children are easy to find what they are interested in and can put more concentration on it.Take my friend’s experence as an example, his secondary school provides lessons on science from which he found his interest——computer,and he is now majoring in computer science.As a result,general education can serve as a guide to help children to make decisions about their future.

In conclusion, although some may think conversely,I hold the belief that the general education is appropriate in today’s world.