In some countries the average weight of people is increasing and their levels of health and fitness are decreasing. What do you think are the causes of these problems and what measures could be taken to solve them?

The number of over-weight people are increasing while their physical health and fitness levels are declining in some countries. This essay will discuss the causes of obesity and provide solutions for the same.

The obvious causes of increasing weight among population are sedentary lifestyle and unhealthy food habits which in turn results in poor physical health. The job background of majority people is computer-based and requires long sitting hours without any physical activity. These lifestyles don’t allow people to burn calories and fats necessary to reduce weight. Another reason for rising over-weight issue is unhealthy diet and increasing consumption of junk food. These kinds of food are rich in fats, oil and triglycerides which are known to be weight-gainers.

Obesity can be reduced and prevented by simple lifestyle modification, diet correction and spreading awareness regarding the same. This increase is risk of obesity can be prevented if people are aware about ill-effects of obesity such as cardiovascular diseases, diabetes and coronary artery disease. The government should arrange campaigns promoting the same. The sedentary lifestyle can be prevented if everyone allows at least 30 mins of their routine to engage in any physical activity such as walking , jogging, Yoga or any sports. People working in corporate sectors can be encouraged to take hourly break and walk around for 5 minutes while opting for climbing stairs instead of elevators. People should also be made aware about the healthy food choices which can prevent obesity.

To conclude, over-weight problems rising among the population resulting in poor fitness is of major concern. Thus, it is important to address the causes such as sedentary lifestyle and bad diet by implementing lifestyle modification and increasing awareness of Obesity.