In some countries worldwide, men and women have children at a later age than in the past. What are the reasons for this development? What are the effects on society and family life?

In recent years, it has been observed that couples prefer having children at a later age compared to previous generations. This essay will discuss why this situation is becoming a trend and what effects it has on both individuals and society.

One of the obvious reasons for delayed childbearing is the rising cost of living. Childcare is not an easy task for most couples since basic needs such as shelter, nutrition, healtcare and education should be provided by parents. However, men and women without a stable financial situation are not likely to afford them fully. Consequently, the second reason arises: the increasing focus on career development. Both genders are opting to improve their education level and climb the career ladder before the child rearing.

This trend has an impact on different areas. Firstly, the postponement of childbirth affects both mothers’ and childrens’ health. Womens’ organism is predisposed to have children at mid 20s. In other words, when a woman gives a birth after 35, the pregnancy is likely to be more uncomfortable and the rates of birth defects, mental retardation and autism begin to increase. Moreover, the odds of getting pregnant lower significantly when the couple is in their mid to late 30. At the societal level, delayed parenthood results in aging populations. This can lead to a decreased number of young people to replace a growing elderly workforce, affecting economic growth.

In conclusion, although people postpone parenthood due to the sensible reasons, it causes potential problems in terms of health complications and social pension services.