In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

Several country’s civilians tend to encouraged youngsters to explore the world and enhance their work experience for a year after finishing their high school before continue their study for higher degree. Even though there are several benefits of this case, such as having new experience and meeting up new people, the drawbacks could be occured in this one gap year.

Look into the first upside, this one year gap cound make young people have various experience that elevate their maturity. This one year gives them time to explore of the other part of country or even different country, thus it is also a possibility of events or tragedies that may happen. These events evaluating their capabilities to handle them. When they come back, they would be more mature and ready for university life. Furthermore, working and traveling higher their chance to meet with new social circle and connection. These connections could help them enhance their knowledge with all the communication skill, and would be a good use for higher education.

In contrast, some people say that it is better to traveling or working after finish this higher education, since there would be more time to enjoy it. The travel or working would not be just one year, the possibilities would be endless because there are no period of time. Besides, one year gap before university means longer time to graduate since graduation is somehow an ephitome of freedom. This would cause parents to haunt them to graduate as soon as they can.

To conclude all that, the favorable features of having one year gap before university are experiencing events to be more matured, and enlarge the social circle. This gap though would affect the graduation by prolong it for one year and rigid the chance for exploring to just one year.