In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

Generally, when students graduated from high school, they went straight to the university for their studying careers. This is no longer always the case. More and more juniors are motivated to take a “gap year” before entering college. Whether this change brings about pros or cons is multifaceted, this essay will discuss both sides of the issues with solid reasons.

On the one hand, taking a year off would benefit young people from broadening their horizons in many aspects. To illustrate, having a gap year helps them to explore real life situations and different places that they haven’t contacted before, which widens graduates’ knowledge about social issues such as gestures, table manners or behaviors. In addition, people are able to develop soft-skills during a year off. Obviously, people may come into challenges during this period of time, these difficulties require them to reinvigorate necessary techniques to cope with. Hence, youngsters can grow mature and prepare a stable background before enrolling in university.

On the other hand, there is a risk that taking a gap year may cloud students’ minds by presenting them with an array of options. As being so impressionable, juniors’ enthusiasm for studying will probably decrease because of external social factors. This can negatively influence their long-run progress due to the alleviation in the desire to go back to university. Moreover, juniors may be engaged in society’s vices such as smoking and gambling if they don’t have strong will. Consequently, a young workforce will be reckless and even create an enormous burden on the country’s economy.

In my opinion, I believe that whether this is positive or negative is due to what an individual wants to achieve in life. There is no “one size fits all” prescription, it will be suitable if students can explore new experiences along with committing to university education afterward.

In conclusion, taking a year off contains both merits and demerits, people shouldn’t make this into a black and white issue. It is pivotal to discuss what course of action suits young people best.