In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

Nowadays, in many countries, teenagers are suggested to have a gap-year between graduating high school and starting university. Some people argue whether it is time-consuming or helps the young to gain more experience before maintaining an advanced education. This essay will discuss why there are significant benefits which far outweigh the drawbacks.

This is firstly because if we embark on a new trip, we will have more friends and relationships that may help you find other interesting perspectives of yourself. It may be challenging but it is also an opportunity to help you become a courageous and independent person. The more time you enjoy each other’s company, the more comprehensive mindset you get to overcome troubles in life. In addition, “Chance favors the prepared mind”. Working and learning in life is not only a foundational step for your career but also keeps you in disciplines. You have to try hard, be patient, which will enhance your social and communication skills in the future. For example, Thomas Edison dropped out of school when he was just 8 years old. He continued to be passionate about scientific research. He said that he had gained experience in life which had given the ideas for researching. Having gotten over challenges, he eventually invented incandescent bulbs, which was one of the mighty innovations in the world.

On the other hand, if they lack social skills when working or traveling by themselves, they can endure several consequences. There are hardships for teenagers to doing whole things alone. This means that they will waste their time and money if they do not try hard and resolve the problems they have. However, “A person who never made a mistake never tried anything new. “. Supporting this idea, you will have to think out of box to tackle your mistakes which makes you creative.

To sum up, having a gap-year is associated with a number of benefits which far outweigh the disadvantages. Instead of being fearful of making mistakes, teenagers should have a gap-year to be more creative and prepare their minds for furthering their career.