In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Today’s youth flourish in their respective fields. One main reason is that young minds are encouraged to work or travel in some parts of the world before they embark on a new journey. Some may say taking a year gap after finishing high school refreshes one’s mind while others don’t likely to agree. This essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this view.

On average, students feel stressed after completing their high school studies. Many students, nowadays, work as interns or move to another country to explore various opportunities. In developing countries like India, education is expanding its wings. It is opening doors for the future generation to not only excel in their chosen field but also to gain hands-on experience in various other factors. Such opportunity is provided for students above the age of 18 onwards. This is the crucial age when one decides on a major milestone in life.

On the other hand, another proportion feels that taking a year between the journey may lose their focus. They feel education must have continuity. When I graduated my school, I was not comfortable giving up 365 days. Instead, one month’s break was more than enough. This decision was completely my personal choice. Neither my parents nor the society had any role in deciding my career. I researched various universities and made my time useful in my way.

In conclusion, today’s children have the capability and privilege to decide their own lives. They should be well aware that they are the ones responsible for their actions and decisions. The parents and the teachers should mold them into understanding the importance of decision making.