In some countries,it now possible to buy a wide variety of foods transported form all over the world.to what extent the benefits of this development outweigh the drawbacks?

In recent years, it has become crucial to trade and exchange various food items among different regions of the world. This international trend has resulted in some positive impacts like food security, more job opportunities and exchange of cultural diversity on one hand, and some adverse effects such as, environmental pollution due to long distance transportation and devaluation of the local trade market on the other hand.

The global trade market has become accessible and it has outreached the needs and availability of edibles and essential culinary. This trend has aided those countries where there is shortage of organic food due to harsh weather and non-availability of arable land. Fruits and vegetables rare in one part of the world can be tasted in the other parts as well, for example Dragon fruit originally grown in Sri lanka is imported to the other parts of the world. Likewise, Pakistan is the biggest supplier of mangoes worldwide. This trend not only ensures the availability and accessibility of all sorts of fruits and vegetables throughout the year irrespective of weather, but it is also a way of empowerment and strengthening of global ties throughout the world.

While the import of edibles has led to various beneficial effects, it also has some negative impacts on local trade market, where the local products or items might lose its worth. It in turns effects the livelihood and employment of thousands of local people. Moreover, it would have detrimental effects on environment, because international trade needs long distance transportation via ships, planes or vehicles. This give rise to carbon emission, which adversely impacts the environment and results in pollution, destroying the mother nature.

In conclusion, the accessibility to all sorts of food via international trade has led to food sufficiency in almost all the regions of the world, cultural exchange and harmony, but has posed a threat to the biodiversity, shortage of natural resources and deterioration of local trade.