In some countries,it now possible to buy a wide variety of foods transported form all over the world.to what extent the benefits of this development outweigh the drawbacks?

In recent years, there is an increasing sale of food items, imported from other countries in most of the supermarkets instead of locally produced goods. Nowadays, different variety of edible items from all over the world are preferred by the big mart. Although there are some positive aspects, I believe the disadvantages of importing foreign goods outweighs more because the importance of local product decreases.

On the one hand, famous food items importing from their native country are easily accessible at present context. Supermarkets has made easy access to the original dishes for the people in their own nation. They are able to taste the new product without travelling to abroad. For example, in the context of Nepal, Sushi and kimchi which are the famous foods of Korea are made available in different markets. So, there is no need for the Nepalese to visit south Korea to have some sushi.

On the other hand, although foreign items helps to gain new experience in taste, there are numerous negative impacts. Firstly, it affects the national economy. In other words, national currency decreases while bringing products into the country. For instance, the Japanese buldak ramen is expensive, so large sum is required while buying it from Japan. Secondly, the importance of local products goes down. People who are fascinated to western foods don’t prioritize the local production. For example, Rumpum, which is one of the local product manufactured by CG group of Nepal are not favored in comparison to Japanese and Korean Ramen.

In conclusion, individuals are able to taste the flavor of various food items from almost all countries residing in their own home. However, I think the negative aspects like price hike and prioritizing the local source of production less, overweighs the positive aspects