In some educational systems, children are required to study one or more foreign languages. In others, foreign language study is not a requirement. What are the potential benefits of foreign language study? Do you think foreign language study is an important part of education? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Recently, some schooling systems argue that learning foreign language is a prerequisite for children, while others suggest that it is not a necessity. This essay will consider the possible advantages of children studying a foreign language, and whether foreign language is an integral aspect of education.

Firstly, foreign language study has numerous advantages for children’s cognitive, emotional and social developments. One advantage is that it increases cognitive abilities which in turn has a positive impact on children’s academic performance. These children’s brains are forced to use problem-solving, critical thinking, and memory recall skills. Additional benefit is that it enhances creativity skills in children. Foreign language study also improves children’s communication and socialization skills. For instance, research shows that bilingual children do better than monolinguals at activities that demand multitasking and attention.

While few educational systems think that foreign study is not essential, I firmly believe that it is an integral aspect of education. This is because learning foreign language improves children’s mind, helps them to understand people’s culture and the world. Furthermore, foreign language study boosts children’s confidence, self-esteem, career opportunities in adulthood, and it helps them to learn easier and faster. For example, it is easier for young children to learn a foreign language than adults. Therefore, starting foreign language study earlier rather than later is more likely to result in a successful experience.

In conclusion, foreign language study has enormous benefits for children’s intellectual development. In my view learning one or more foreign languages should be an essential requirement in all schools.