In some parts of the world, traditional festivals and celebrations have disappeared or are disappearing. Why is this happening? What measures could be taken to ensure they do not disappear?

There is a concern in today’s society that traditional and festivals are bound to dissapear. Indeed, it becomes an issue that needs to be addresses. This essay will discuss main reasons and present potential solutions.

The first reason of this on-going event is believed to be related to the effect globalization – especially in the metropolitan area. It is undoubtedly true that more and more people from different areas are migrating to the hotspot area in order to have better opportunity. For instance, Sydney, a city in Australia which is widely known to have diversed population, creating a melting pot in that area. Addressing this problem involves the role from the government to strengthen traditional values through creative and engaging form of arts. For example, promoting tradtional festival in an art exhibition, parade as well as the feast. By doing so, this can raise the awareness of people to participate in preserving the told celebrations.

Another cause to this issue would be the value of popular cultures might be more relevant to today’s generation, leading to the neglection of cultural preference. To illustrate this, korean pop culture is currently one of the most prominent one in the world and many youngster from all over the world tend to build their routine and habit similar to Koreans. Additionally, some might assume that it is more prestigious for them to represent the popular culture as it brings pride to them. Needless to say, this causes people to not participating in their own local festivals and there is probably no need for the government or other partes to conduct such events. The way forward might be to educate the young generatons and involve them in various cultural events. As most of them are tech-savvy people, meaning they use social media a lot, they can definitely help make the tradtional festival and celebration alive again.

All in all, some countries which experiencing the dissaperance of traditional festivals and celebrations can be caused by the diversity of population and the preference of young people toward popular cultures. The vast majority believes that it is the effect of globalisation, yet personally, the local or traditional events should also be enjoyed by all generations.