In some parts of the world, traditional festivals and celebrations have disappeared or are disappearing. Why is this happening? What measures could be taken to ensure they do not disappear?

It has been widely known that cultural festivals and celebrations have faded in several areas of the world. This essay will look at the problems and propose solutions to overcome this change.

One of the major contributors to the fading custom in society is the modernization as the result of Western culture’s influence. Currently, the media always presents the way people in the west behave which affects young people to follow their custom of lives. Consequently, youngsters want to be like what they see on TV or the internet. One practical solution for this problem is by initiating cultural awareness programs in schools and societies. This strategy might raise people’s awareness of how important their culture is. Moreover, it reminds them of the tradition they may forget for a while due to the overexposure to the western life.

Another problem that needs to be considered is that some traditional festivals require a vast amount of money. In the majority of cases, cultural celebrations will be super expensive that can affect people’s economy. As a result, some citizens no longer want to participate in the festivals. In Toraja, for example, a tradition known as Rambu Solo demands a number of animals including cows and pigs which are extremely costly. Despite preserving cultural heritage, it is essential to consider the economic side so that it will not make society suffer after the festivals. One immediate solution is for the government to create specific policies that can tackle this issue. The authorities might limit the number of livestocks people will use in the celebrations.

All things considered, there are some problems that cause the disappearance of cultural celebrations. Therefore, the government and society should work together on such a problem to protect the age-old customs.