In some parts of the world, the popularity of taking a personal DNA test is increasing. Why do some people want to do this? Is this development positive or negative?

Taking a personal DNA test has become more popular in some countries. There are various reasons for that and I believe that this development has both positive and negative factors.

First of all, many individuals are interested in their family history. As a result, they take a personal DNA test to find their ancestors and gain knowledge about their roots. Furthermore, health is another reason why people decide to take the test. Increasing number of people want to have insight into their potential health risks such as certain diseases or conditions. For instance, genetic testing can be crucial for some to confirm the diagnosis and start the right treatment. Moreover, DNA test can be done due to legal reasons. For example, parenting tests to confirm who is the legal guardian of a dependant.

The development in DNA testing can also have a bad impact to some individuals. Although, it can support majority of the health issues, the results might be unforseen in some cases. Therefore, receiving a negative, unexpected information, about genetic disorders, can cause mental problems leading to depression. Some people might not be ready to accept the fact that they are seriously ill. In addition, personal DNA tests are expensive. In most countries they are not financed by government or insurance.

In conclusion, development in DNA testing has its benefits and risks. Most definitely, it can support people in many aspect of their lives. However, as many developments it also has its drawbacks, it can cost some people’s peace of mind and a financial struggle.