In some parts of the world, the popularity of taking a personal DNA test is increasing. Why do some people want to do this? Is this development positive or negative?

Nowadays, in many countries, genetic testing is getting more and more popular. This essay will examine the reasons for that trend and argue that, despite a few potential benefits, this is predominantly a negative development.

The key reasons behind the rising popularity of DNA tests are the demand in identifying potential health risks and exploring family history, as well as their ease of access through at-home testing kits. As technology develops, people are now able to get insights about their genetic predispositions to serious diseases, for example cancer, which helps make informed decisions about their health and lifestyle. Many individuals are also drawn to genetic testing to learn more about their ancestors and even reconnect with distant relatives they have previously never known. The availability of these testing kits makes it easy to order online, take it at home, and quickly receive results.

Although this trend may give a deeper understanding of your roots and cultural background, I believe that it is mostly harmful. The most significant drawbacks are the accuracy of those tests which varies and the interpretation of results which can not only be complex and misleading, but also may cause emotional distress of individuals and conflicts within their family. Furthermore, it should be noted that the process of collecting and storing genetic information raise privacy concerns, since it can be accessed and misused by other companies.

In conclusion, personal DNA testing is becoming more common. However, its downsides are subject of the ongoing discussion in the society. In my opinion, because of the frequent inaccuracy and privacy concerns, this popularity is predominantly a negative trend.