In some schools and universities, girls tend to choose arts subjects (e.g. literature), and boys tend to choose science subjects (e.g. physics). Why do you think this is so? Should this tendency be changed?

Girls tend to choose art-related subjects, whereas boys are more likely to choose science-based subjects in educational institutions. While there are several causes behind this gender disparity, I firmly believe this trend should needs to be changed.

There are two main causes of why there is a gender disparity in choosing subjects to pursue. One of these is gender stereotypes, which stems from societal expectations. Women are expected to be more creative, emotional, and caring, while men are guided to be innovative, competitive, and logical. For instance, this influence is largely reinforced by the type of toys they receive, such as dolls and art and craft sets for girls, and, in turn, cars and science kits for boys. The second, albeit equally relevant, cause would be the lack of role models in specific fields. Male relatives are often seen in science-related fields, while female ones are detected in art-related areas. Having said that, if they don’t see their gender succeeding in core subjects, they may doubt their own abilities. As a result, they automatically opt for certain subjects that match their gender, regardless of their own interests and strengths.

In my opinion, however, supporting equal opportunities in all subjects benefits both students and society. Everyone, regardless of gender, should be free to choose subjects they are passionate about. If they choose subjects relying on social norms they will be less likely to discover hidden talents and reach their full potential. For example, a girl who has a passion for math might not be confident in her abilities as she doesn’t have anyone to follow in their footsteps. Consequently, having the freedom to pursue one’s interests may be a key factor in achieving success and making a positive contribution to society.

To sum up, despite having thought that gender is crucial in their choice of subject, they should follow the path that suits their interests in order to succeed in the long run.