In the developed world,the average life expectancy is increasing.What are the problems associated with this?Suggest some measures that should be taken to reduce the impact.

In contemporary society, longer lifespans are considered to be an ever-increasing problem. While the issue poses several adverse effects to people and community, there are some measures that can be taken to mitigate the influence of aging citizens.

One possible downside caused by growing life expectancy is the financial burden that younger individuals may shoulder. Since the extension of lifespan, some extra spendings that are necessary to cater for elderly’s health such as medicines and insurances require further efforts to cover the expenses. For example, some employees are likely to go part-time in order to have a solid financial foundation that can serve the prices of elderly healthcare. Therefore, such a high-intensive workload may undermine their productivity alongside deteriorating their overall health. Moreover, expanding life expectancy can draw lots of government resources into caring for older people such as funds and subsidize the demographics as well. These may lead the society to be imbalanced since other problems such as education or poverty can be neglected and faded away. As a result, the community’s citizens can be negatively impacted by problems stemming from that difference such as crime and social disorder.

However, there are many solutions which can tackle the hardship. One of those is providing appropriate job chances for the elderly. Such assistance may enable them to have financial autonomy which decompresses the economic strain from younger labour. For example, some meticulous occupations such as knitting or weaving can be suitable for old people to make a living and serve their medical necessities. Another practical measure is raising the retirement age. Since the higher level of retirement age, the seniors can continue working and contributing to society that can shift the government’s budgets to other rising problems. Hence, the community can benefit from the comprehensive development and increase the citizens’ living standard.

In conclusion, although a lengthened lifespan can exacerbate the youths’ finance-related stress and threaten the security of citizens from the imbalance of priority, some pragmatic measures are essential to reduce the gravity of the issue