In the developed world,the average life expectancy is increasing.What are the problems associated with this?Suggest some measures that should be taken to reduce the impact.

In some developed countries, especially in Western, people have just started to live longer. This essay will discuss particular problems that increasing life expectancy will lead to in the future and solutions that will be useful in order to minimize the impact of ageing populations.

Talking about problems, they mostly affect not only society, but also economy, which is tightly connected to government budget. For example, in a country, where the majority of citizens are represented as elderly people, will be fewer tax payers, which will definitely lead to problems with economy. Besides, since there are more people need to be paid welfare, the quantity of working hours will be increased, so workers will be exhausted my working overtime.

As for measures to that problem, there are several different ways to solve this. Firstly, increasing the age of retirement would surely be useful, because the more people can live, the more they can work. For instance, this method was used in Russia when the age of the retirement was increased to 65 years old, meaning that people could still work to 60. Secondly, attracting young talented people from abroad will not only boost our economy, but also will positively affect on social life of our country, leading to building the international communication. Nowadays, lots of countries are even ready to support one’s education in university by scholarships that cover almost all expenses. Finally, there is an option to reduce welfare and budget expenses on retired people. I believe, it is possible to cut particular expenses on unnecessary medical treatment that is provided for free. For example, blood tests are not essential.

All things considered, yes, it is a huge problem for Western countries economic and there are plenty of ways to reduce negative influence of increased life expectancy.