Major cities in the world are growing fast, as well as their problems. What are the problems that young people living in those cities are facing? Suggest some solutions.

Although the development of major cities provides people with more economic opportunities and a better quality of life, it also creates numerous challenges, resulting in problems such as rising housing prices and increasing pollution levels that greatly affect young people’s lives. Nevertheless, these issues can be addressed by both government policies and community

initiatives.

One of the most pressing problems that people are facing in major cities is pollution. Due to rapid urbanisation in major cities, more job opportunities are created, which attracts a growing number of immigrants, leading to severe pollution. Therefore, respiratory diseases have become increasingly common, causing the death of many people. For example, people in Bangkok had stronger immune systems ten years ago. However, recent research conducted by an organization found that pollution is the main cause of increasing mortality in Bangkok. Additionally, the immigration of people from other places increases the demand for accomodation. Therefore, rents and housing prices significantly rise, putting a heavy burden on people and making them tighten their budgets. Particularly, ten years ago, the housing prices in Ha Noi ranged from one to two billion VND for an apartment. However, a flat today costs approximately four to five billion VND while the citizen’s salaries cannot keep pace with these increases.

To address this issue, both governmental and community-level solutions are required. The government should impose some policies to encourage people to move back to rural regions. For instance, urban population in Japanese big cities dramatically decreased thanks to government financial support package, which motivates resident to work in rural areas. Besides that, public awareness should also be raised to use public transport to reduce pollution and transportation costs. Specifically, people are educated to use public vehicles rather than private vehicles, creating a cleaner urban environment for large cities.

In conclusion, with the advancement of metropolitan areas, young people face many hardships such as pollution and accomodation. However, through appropriate policies and community support, these problem can be effectively mitigated.