In the developed world,the average life expectancy is increasing.What are the problems associated with this?Suggest some measures that should be taken to reduce the impact.

Countries that are well developed have witnessed an increasing trend in the life expectancy recently.Although this is a positive experience, it has led to high dependency rates and consequently a cost implication on on both family and government in running homes for the elderly.To lessen this negative impact, the old should be encouraged to adopt an active lifestyle and also empower them economically.

To begin with, families spend a lot of money and time in caring for the old at home and in institutions for the aged where they pay for better services.Several countries like Italy have also had to high expatriates to curb labour shortages in their workforce.This is because people in their advanced ages are less energetic to keep up the pace and demands at their workplace.Furthemore, these individuals are likely to have health issues that demand better healthcare which could be expensive.

A possible solution to these problems is to encourage the aged to adopt an active lifestyle for instance making them volunteer to work in various organisations this reducing the pressure on governments to take in new employees.Moreover, they could be employed to work in less demanding work environments for a salary and to also keep them active physically and mentally.Furthemore, it will make them self _ reliant economically.

In conclusion, many countries have experienced an increasing life expectancy that has led to great dependancy on family and administrations financially.However, the aged should adopt and active lifestyle and be engaged in activities that earn them an income.