In the developed world,the average life expectancy is increasing.What are the problems associated with this?Suggest some measures that should be taken to reduce the impact.

Thanks to the advances in medicine and technology, avarage life longevity is rising, rresulting in isssues such as a higher dependency rate and a shortage of job opportunities for the youth. Methods to tackle these problems might include encouraging pensioners to maintain working and broadening the range of overall vacancy availability.

Overall tendencies to live longer brings about a shift in the number of elderly people, who are usually not self-sufficient and need adult relatives and the state to look after their well-being. As the responsibility of the state to care for its old-aged population increases, fundings being spent on nursing houses, medicine and life expenditures also rises, preventing further investments on a more prosperous sectors. As well for the responsible relatives, involuntarily having to take care of their elderly family member is also likely to cause in a shift of focus from personal development to nurturing someone dependent. Some people prefer to continue their career even after retirement to provide for themselves, meaning less jobs will be available in the labor market for young people who recently entered adulthood. This might also bring about the problem of more serious unemployment, making this matter double-edged as neither elders working and not working would cause negative effects.

The presented issues would require that innovative measures should be taken. The improved welfare in the elderly’s health and overall being shows that people are far more capable than in the past when standard retirement ages were imposed, technically making those standards irrelevant for our age. This notion removes the moral unease of the officials to convince people should work after retirement, too; this is probably even better for them as they could do more physical movement and stay active, then. However, in order this not to lead to any further infavorable consequences, actions should be taken to increase the vacancies in the job market, ensuring people will not loose their profession while they are still capable and newbies also will not be a victim for shortage of jobs

In conclusion, higher life expecancy contributed to the emergence of some new issues and these could be resolvd if the aforementioned measures are taken.