In the future, it is expected that there will be a higher proportion of older people than younger people in many countries. Is this a positive or negative development?

In today’s contemporary era, it has been anticipated that there will be major chunk of older people population compared to the younger generation. While some people believe that it is a positive development; I hold the belief that this scenario will be both benediction and malediction for the society. This essay will elaborate both viewpoints with suitable examples before articulating my own position.

To begin with, advocates of the belief that high proportion of older people have gained more experience in their respective fields of working and can contribute to society for betterment. Additionally, older generations are honest and hardworking which results into the more productivity for the organizations they have been working with. For instance, according to a recent survey in France, it has been observed that older employees are more productive, honest, and reliable instead of those who were younger employees.

On the flip side, proponents of the belief that young workers are imperative for the contiguous growth of a nation argue that older people are not familiar to technology, as major part of corporate jobs depend on the technical skills. Furthermore, juveniles are backbone and future of society and should be given opportunities to prove themselves in the field, such as technology, agriculture, and artificial intelligence.

In conclusion, while there are valid arguments on both sides of the debate, I assert that there should be a striking-balance between these viewpoints. While older people possess huge work experiences, reliability, honesty, and productivity, today’s era of technology is easier and indispensable for the younger generations.