In the modern world, it is possible to shop, work and communicate with people via internet and live without any face-to-face contact with others. Is it a positive or negative development?

The noteworthy advancements in technology has brought forth a plethora of beneficial transformations that allow people to shop, work, and communicate through a screen. However, I hold a firm belief that this fast-growing aspect has negative impacts on the user’s mental health as well as the society.

First and foremost, Internet users may heavily suffer from mental deterioration due to the sored lack of essential skills such as communication. This is based on the assumption that people encounter the pathological fear of communicating or meeting each other, resulting from the comfort they may attain from online chatting. This issue may precipitate the isolation within the communities that people become far more obscure or introverted, leading to the negative thoughts surrounding their mind all the time. Moreover, this situation can even be exacerbated when humans completely fail to promote familiar bonds between family members, or friends. In sum, the development of the Internet may do harm to people for the reason that this powerful tool can stifle the growth of mentality, in other words, people rarely have opportunities to foster self-esteem or crucial interpersonal skills.

In the second place, the breakthrough of Internet applications into real-life can widen the gulf between the rich and the poor. To illustrate, the rich, who freely get access to various conveniences offered by the Internet, may obtain better shopping deals, career prospects, or chances to connect with more people, thus they become greatly more advantageous than other finance-limited social classes. Another important consideration is that the increasing rate of cybercrime should be a warning sign for Internet users. For example, there is a high possibility that confidential information can be stolen easily when using such online platforms, through online transaction services or cashless payment which make private information vulnerable to synthetic identity theft.

In conclusion, I must admit that the Internet can offer us several advantages in terms of shopping, working, and communicating. However, in retrospect, the disadvantages outweigh its benefits which enquire users to be alert of any possible sign of online fraud.